Home > At a Glance


 SSS at a Glance

SSS (Society for Social Service) is a non-political, non-profit and a non-government development organization. It was established by a group of like-minded, progressive and committed individuals in 1986 with a goal of improving the deprived-neglected-trailing people. From its very beginning, SSS has been implementing diversified innovative and development-friendly programs in order to alleviate poverty and ensure sustainable development.

Target People

Vulnerable, deprived and excluded men, women and children who are well-organized and devoted to their self-development are the target people of SSS. As on 30 June 2017, number of direct beneficiaries of SSS stands at 5,89,788. Of them 5,74,051 are female, 14,326 male and 1,411 children.

On the other hand, about 40 lac people are financially benefited by the direct impact of overall activities and services of SSS.


SSS has been implementing different innovative, welfare and people-friendly activities with a view to bringing a positive change in the socioeconomic condition of the target people. The chief activities of the organization include: micro-finance and financial nursing, education and child development, vocational education, nation-building through eradicating malnutrition, healthcare, human resource development, training, agriculture-fish-livestock development, disaster management and rehabilitation, begging eradication, research and publication, benevolent and welfare activities, sports and culture, advocacy and networking, and so on.

Human Resources

The organization owns skilful and devoted manpower to keep the work-environment, discipline and activities dynamic. Under the supervision of human resource development division, the number of staffs stands presently at 3,880. Of them, 954 are female and 2,926 male.

Working Area

As on 30 June 2017, SSS has expanded its working area over 31 districts with a view to delivering its services to the doorsteps of the target people. There are  10,704 villages, 1,265 unions, 130 municipalities and 182 upazilas under the above-mentioned districts. The activities are being facilitated and  implemented through 13 zone, 57 area, 331 branch and six other offices at field level under the head office.